Virtual conference: Water Commons

VIRTUAL CONFERENCE: WATER COMMONS

May 10, 2021

PIM Flagship 5 (Governance of Natural Resources) colleagues will participate in the virtual conference on Water Commons on May 19-21, 2021 held as part of the XVIII Biennial International Association for the Study of Commons (IASC) Conference “Our Commons Future”.

REGISTER FOR THE CONFERENCE

LIVE EVENTS PROGRAM

Flagship 5 research will be presented and discussed during the following sessions (flagship team members' names in italics):

WEDNESDAY, MAY 19, 2021

  • 2:00-3:00 am UTC-7 (Arizona) / 5:00-6:00 am EDT / 9:00-10:00 am UTC

Panel 1. Rules, collaboration, and nested enterprises
Moderator: Wai-Fung (Danny) Lam
Panelists: Sadao Harada, Sharon Pollard, Jim Sinner, Sitti Rahma Ma'mun, and Everisto Mapedza

THURSDAY, MAY 20, 2021

  • 4:00-5:00 am UTC-7 (Arizona) / 7:00-8:00 am EDT / 11:00 am-12:00 pm UTC

Panel 5. Customary water tenure: a commons lens filling the voids in the water sector

Moderator: Barbara van Koppen

Panelists: Jessica Troell and Patience Mukuyu

  • 10:00-11:00 am UTC-7 (Arizona) / 1:00-2:00 pm EDT / 5:00-6:00 pm UTC

Panel 6. Collective action in water governance

Moderator: Ruth Meinzen-Dick

Panelists: Anita Milman, Sharon Pollard, Bryan Bruns, Marta Nieto-Romero, and Theresa Marie Lorenzo

FRIDAY, MAY 21, 2021

  • 1:00-2:00 am UTC-7 (Arizona) / 4:00-5:00 am EDT / 8:00-9:00 am UTC

Panel 9. Collaboration, property rights, and scale

Moderator: Seemi Waheed

Panelists: Yahua Wang, Diana Suhardiman, My-Phuong Nguyen-Hoang, Vinay Sankar

  • 2:00-3:00 am UTC-7 (Arizona) / 5:00-6:00 am EDT / 9:00-10:00 am UTC

Panel 10. Power and politics of water governance

Moderator: Wai-Fung (Danny) Lam

Panelists: Sola Kim, Diana Suhardiman, Lavanya Suresh, and Faith Chan

  • 5:00-6:00 am UTC-7 (Arizona) / 8:00-9:00 am EDT / 12:00-1:00 pm UTC

Keynote Conversation 6. Water governance and challenges in South Africa

Speaker: Barbara Schreiner

Moderator: Barbara Van Koppen

  • 7:00-9:00 am UTC-7 (Arizona) / 10:00-12:00 am EDT / 2:00-4:00 pm UTC

Workshop 4. Games for Social Learning on Water Governance

Instructors: Ruth Meinzen-Dick, Thomas Falk, Pratiti Priyadarshini and Richu Sanil

This will be an interactive workshop where rolling out of surface water game will be demonstrated. Additionally, participants will receive a Sourcebook on “Strengthening Governance of Water Commons”.

Capacity for this workshop is limited to 30 participants. Please register soon via this link.  

Photo by Sande Murunga/CIFOR

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *