Who we are


CoE Home Page >> Who we are

The CGIAR Community of Excellence (CoE) for Seed Systems Development initiative is anchored in three programs that share a common interest in seed systems development: the CGIAR Research Program on Policies, Institutions, and Markets (PIM), the Integrated Seed Sector Development in Africa (ISSD Africa) project, and the Netherlands-CGIAR Seed Systems Development research program (NL-CGIAR SSD) focused on Enabling and Scaling Genetic Improvement and Propagation Materials of Crops, Livestock and Fish.

The initiative is hosted by PIM at the request of the Government of the Netherlands, and in recognition of PIM’s role as a global integrating program that works across all CGIAR Centers and programs. Importantly, the initiative builds on the expertise and experience in seed systems development that is present throughout the Centers, programs, partnerships, and networks that constitute CGIAR.

The Community of Excellence is guided by a Technical Committee, which includes:

  1. Alessandra Galie (ILRI)
  2. Boudy van Schagen (KIT Royal Tropical Institute)
  3. Carlo Fadda (Alliance of Bioversity and CIAT)
  4. David Spielman (IFPRI)
  5. Essegbemon Akpo (ICRISAT)
  6. Gerrie Tuitert (NWO-WOTRO)
  7. Jaques Wery (ICARDA)
  8. Jason Donovan (CIMMYT)
  9. Jean Balié (IRRI)
  10. Jon Hellin (IRRI)
  11. Kelvin Mashisia Shikuku (WorldFish)
  12. Lucky O. Omoigui (IITA)
  13. Margaret McEwan (CIP)
  14. Marja Thijssen (Wageningen Centre for Development Innovation, Wageningen UR)
  15. Oscar Ortiz (CIP)
  16. Ramni Jamnadass (CIFOR-ICRAF)
  17. Saidu Bah (AfricaRice)
  18. Stephan Weise (Alliance of Bioversity and CIAT)
  19. Walter de Boef (Wageningen UR)
  20. Zewdie Bishaw (ICARDA)


Photo: CIAT/Neil Palmer